Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MacDowell Library: Home

BOOKMARK LIBGUIDES FOR EASY ACCESS TO THE LIBRARY RESOURCES!

Home

FEATURED RESOURCES

These two recent guides are being highlighted. The Antiracism Guide was updated for use with our Personal Learning Network this year. The Election Guide is a one stop guide to a myriad of election resources and coverage. JStor Daily provides access to scholarly articles on current events.

CATALOG

M5 Search Box
M5 Search Mandarin Logo

Use the search box to quickly look up a book in our catalog.

NEWSPAPERS

    

For access go to the Library Resources in Rivers Net.

RIVERS SCHOOL DATABASES

The Rivers School subscribes to numerous databases, and has access to others, that support the curriculum and can provide information and resources for personal interests. Some are broad in scope and some have a more focused collection. Database content includes newspapers, magazines and journals, reference sources, images, and other primary sources. For a full A-Z list, click here. 

Many of our databases are available through the Massachusetts Library System. to browse these by subject area click here.

BPL eCARD REGISTRATION

As a resident of Massachusetts, you can apply for an eCard from the BPL. This provides access to multiple databases and other resources.

Public Library Card

LIBRARY INFORMATION

LIBRARY STAFF

Diane DeVore, Library Director

Karen W. Starr, Librarian

Bruce Taylor, Library Assistant

LIBRARY HOURS

Monday 7:30-6:00

Tuesday 7:30-6:00

Wednesday 7:30-6:00

Thursday 7:30-6:00

Friday 7:30-4

NoodleTools

NoodleTools is an online tool to help you create and save bibliographies. All Rivers students have access. 

If you are new to NoodleTools check out their Help Desk, which contains numerous tutorials on its' use.

Books and Reading

Wall Street Journal: What to Read This Fall

Catalog

M5 Search Box
M5 Search Mandarin Logo

Use the search box to quickly look up a book in our catalog.

The Book That Changed My Life

 

   

 

 

 

 

Readers of the New York Times were recently asked to pick a book that had a significant impact on them. Over 1,300 responded and the answers ranged from classics to favorite childhood books. 

The responses are here.