LibGuides: Bioethics Club: Home

MAGAZINE VS. SCHOLARLY JOURNAL

Magazines such as Time or Sports Illustrated contain articles that are for the general public and you may or may not be able to determine who wrote them. Scholarly journals or academic journals, such as The New England Journal of Medicine are written by experts in a particular field and have been peer reviewed before publication. The articles will contain works cited, footnotes, and bibliographies.

DATABASES VS. WEBSITES

Do you know the difference between a website and a database? Content found on the web is not all the same!

WEBSITES can be created by almost anyone with access to the internet. While many websites provide factual and attributable information it can be hard to verify authorship. They may contain outdated information and they may have a bias.It is important to become familiar with web site evaluation.
DATABASES are available through subscriptions. They may have a broad range of topics or be focused on a more specific one. They have been created for research purposes and the content is curated.

DATABASES

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window Updated daily, this collection includes 1.6 million articles and 200 journals.
JStor and ArtStor This link opens in a new window JStor is a scholarly database. On campus users are able to access the database directly. For off campus/remote you will need to get log on and password information from your teacher or a librarian. You may also access a large collection of images including images from ArtStor
Science Database This link opens in a new window This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This database is available from the BPL. In-depth and unbiased reports on a wide range of topical issues. It is easy to get your own eCard (see the box below). You may also use Ms. Starr's card: 20000001054361 password: 5794

WHAT'S ON THE HORIZON

2023 Horizon Scanning
An interactive look at topics in Bioethics. Topics include animals, food and the environment, beginning of life, health and society, data and technology, and research ethics.

NOODLETOOLS/NOODLEBIB

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

NoodleTools is an online tool to help you create and save bibliographies. All Rivers students have access. The short videos below will help familiarize you with NoodleTools. You will need revalidate your account or create a new one. The library password is: noodlepass1

IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU OPEN UP NOODLETOOLS WHENEVER YOU ARE WORKING WITH YOUR RESOURCES!! IF YOU ARE HAVING TROUBLE OR HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, THE LIBRARIANS ARE HAPPY TO HELP YOU!!

BPL eCARD REGISTRATION

Get an E-Card from the Boston Public Library Register for an E-card to access all of the BPL electronic resources.

As a resident of Massachusetts, you can apply for an eCard from the BPL. This provides access to multiple databases and other resources. Once you have an eCard, you will be able to check out eBooks under the Books and more tab.