Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MacDowell Library: Home

BOOKMARK LIBGUIDES FOR EASY ACCESS TO THE LIBRARY RESOURCES!

Home

RIVERS SCHOOL DATABASES

The Rivers School subscribes to numerous databases that support the curriculum and personal interests. Some are broad in scope and some have a more focused collection. Database content includes newspapers, magazines and journals, reference sources, images, and other primary sources. For a full A-Z list, click here. Many of our databases are available through the Massachusetts Library System. To browse these by subject area click here.

NEWSPAPERS

    

For access go to the Library Resources in Rivers Net.

BPL eCARD REGISTRATION

As a resident of Massachusetts, you can apply for an eCard from the BPL. This provides access to multiple databases and other resources.

PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD

CATALOG

M5 Search Box
M5 Search Mandarin Logo

Use the search box to quickly look up a book in our catalog.

FEATURED WEBSITES: FOCUS ON NEWS AND MEDIA

The recent impeachment trial of former President Trump, brought into clear focus the urgent need to navigate the information landscape and to help students develop the skills needed to distinguish between fact and opinion as well as what is really "fake news". At Rivers, middle school students take a class on Media Literacy from faculty member Bruce Taylor. You may be familiar with some of the following websites. They all provide useful information.

 

NOODLE TOOLS

NoodleTools is an online tool to help you create and save bibliographies. All Rivers students have access. 

If you are new to NoodleTools check out their Help Desk, which contains numerous tutorials on its' use.

LIBRARY INFORMATION

STAFF:

Diane DeVore, Library Director

Karen W. Starr, Assistant Librarian

Bruce Taylor, Librarian Assistant

HOURS:

Monday-Thursday 7:30-6

Friday 7:30-4

 

 

 

RESPONSE TO THE EVENTS ON JANUARY 6, 2021

Books and Reading

What's better than summer reading? Here are some of the suggestions from the web:

 

CATALOG

M5 Search Box
M5 Search Mandarin Logo

Use the search box to quickly look up a book in our catalog.

NEW ADDITIONS

THE BOOK THAT CHANGED MY LIFE

 

   

 

 

 

 

Readers of the New York Times were recently asked to pick a book that had a significant impact on them. Over 1,300 responded and the answers ranged from classics to favorite childhood books. 

The responses are here.